Make your own free website on

Problems with this site? Contact the Webmistress.

Copyright 1998-2006, Oklahoma Romance Writers of America

Chapter Officers & History

2005 Board of Directors

President: Deborah Behrens

President Elect: Vicki Hudoba

Program Director: Cindy Marolt

Treasurer: Merline Lovelace

Secretary: Jodi O'Shea-Walker

Newsletter Editor: Rinda Elliott

Webmistress:  Kelli McBride

Past President: Terri Schaefer


If you're interested in joining or learning more about OK-RWA, please contact Deborah Behrens.

OK-RWA History

May 11, 1989, twelve Oklahoma City area members of Romance Writers of America (eleven in person, one in spirit) met and formed OK-RWA.  Three more meetings followed, all open to interested RWA members, in which we discussed and decided upon things such as chapter goals, bylaws, and basic policies and procedures.

Three short months later, Oklahoma Romance Writers of America was ready to roll.   We had adopted a set of bylaws, we were in the process of filing for Federal tax-exempt status with the IRS, we were incorporating as a non-profit organization within the State of Oklahoma, we published the first edition of our newsletter, the OK CORRAL, and we had grown to 35 members, 15 of which were already published Romance novelists.

Some of our Founders and Charter Members have left us over the years, but this is who we were when we began:


Mary Beadles
Sonya Birmingham
Irene Black
Charlene Buerger
Maureen Bullinger
Sherry Bynum
Deborah Camp
Jackie Casto
Debra Cowan
Elizabeth Dew
Jean Hager
Brenda Hamilton
Barbara Kaye
Jacqueline King
Curtiss Ann Matlock
Deborah Morris
Sara Orwig
Elaine Quinn
Barbara Shelton


Nancy Berland
Alma Blair
Willena Ferguson
Marie Golloway
Georgina Gentry
Janis Reams Hudson
Patsy Klingstedt
Peggy Moreland
Cheryl Anne Porter
Karren Radko
Wendy Rego
Pat Shaver

  Past Presidents

1989 - Peggy Moreland
1990 - Karren Radko
1991 - Karren Radko
1992 - Pat Shaver
1993 - Sharon Sala
1994 - Cheryl Anne Porter
1995 - Merline Lovelace
1996 - Merline Lovelace
1997 - Debra Cowan
1998 - Sharon Sala
1999 - Rinda Elliott
2000 - Rinda Elliott
2001 - Jill Floyd
2002 - Jill Floyd
2003 - Donnell Epperson
2004 - Ammanda McCabe

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.